Home » Maxwell the only Aussie retained by IPL clubs

Maxwell the only Aussie retained by IPL clubs


Glenn Maxwell was the only Australian to be retained in the Indian Premier League ahead of the auction with David Warner being released by Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Warner was player of the tournament in the recent T20 World Cup but had a poor end to the campaign with Sunrisers who finished bottom of the table.

Mighty Maxwell wows in extraordinary IPL campaign

Warner said on social media: “Thanks to all of you for your support over the years, up and downs, my family and I can’t stress enough how much we appreciated the love and passion you showed towards us and the team.

“Candice and I truely wish all the fans the very best for the future and hope whoever you wish to support the best.”

Josh Hazlewood, who was on the wining Chennai Super Kings side was also left off the retained list, Super Kings opting for only Mooen Ali of their two foreign players. 

However, Warner, Hazlewood, and several other Australians are likely to be picked up in the auction if they opt in, especially as there are two expansion franchises based in Lucknow and Ahmedabad further increasing demand.

The new teams have until Christmas Day to hire three players ahead of the Mega Auction, the date of which is still to be decided.

Maxwell was retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore for a fee of 110m Indian rupees (A$2m), one of the ten highest.

Team-mate Kohli was retained for 150m rupees (A$2.8m) while Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians), Ravindra Jadeja (Chennai), Risbabh Pant (Delhi Capitals) all went for 16m rupees (A$3m).

Each of the eight franchises were allowed to retain up to four players with a maximum of three Indians, two overseas players and two uncapped Indian players.

IPL retained players

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad.

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Andre Russell, Varun Chakaravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard.

Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh.

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik.

Sign up for BKT Big Bash Tipping this season at tipping.cricket.com.au! Go for the major prize or join a league and take on your friends, family and colleagues.

Source link

Facebook Comments Box