Watch: Davis Cup – Great Britain v Uzbekistan

Watch: Davis Cup – Great Britain v Uzbekistan

There are currently 132 nations taking part in
the Davis Cup. 16 nations compete in the
World Group in a straight knockout, while the remaining countries are divided
into three regional zones.

It is played in February, April, September and November at home and away venues, with each World Group tie
played over three days in a best-of-five tie of five-set matches.

However, an increasing number
of top players have skipped matches in recent years to ease their schedule.

The reformed event would see
matches played over the best of three sets, in a World Cup-style
tournament. 24 teams would compete
in home and away ties in February, with 12 winning teams advancing to the
finals in November.

The four semi-finalists from
the previous year’s tournament, plus two wildcards, would complete the 18

The finals – to be staged in
Madrid or Lille from 18 to 24 November – would be a round-robin format before a
knockout phase, with matches consisting of two singles and one doubles rubber.

Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here